PDA

View Full Version : Check engine light code PO421

akazempoor
04-12-2014, 12:25 AM
Hey Guys,

I am new to the Miata game sorry. I have a 1999 mazda miata that I got 3 weeks ago. I was driving one day from work and I got a check engine light. So I did a oil change, changed my spark plugs, and also checked the gas gap. I reset the check engine light by disconnect and reconnect the battery. My check engine light came on again couple days ago. I went to Pep boys and they read it for me and it said Code PO421. What can I do to fix this? I heard my car is a CA-SPEC car. Please help

mini_fd
04-12-2014, 04:46 AM
I believe it's the 02 sensor. The top one by the cat in the header.

Here is a link to answer your questions...

http://www.google.com/search?q=p0421miata+site:forum.miata.net

kung fu jesus
04-12-2014, 07:46 AM
Today is your lucky day! :)

No, really though, I had the same issue with my '99 CA emissions Miata, I would clear the code out with an OBD2 scanner tool and it would come back every so often.

There are a few issues that cause this:

Failing pre-cat (let's call it "PC"), failing oxygen sensor (O2 sensor - the front one, CA emissions cars have two), a combination of the two, and it could also be a failing coil pack which is choking up the PC.

The first time I had this issue, I replaced the PC. It is expensive, difficult to get to (you will have to remove the exhaust manifold, EGR tube, front O2 sensor and down pipe (DP). If you are in CA, companies will only sell you a CA-legal cat to bolt in. This adds more cost. So, I bought a new PC, new front O2 sensor and cleared the code. Less than 2 years later the code came back. Grrrr!