PDA

View Full Version : (Irregular) High idle coming to a stop.

KAL
06-06-2014, 08:33 AM
Hello!
My 1.6 NA has problems with high idle when coming to a stop, such as at a red light.
When hanging, idle speed is around 1800-2000 rpm. Somethimes (not always) it idles high it then drops to 800 after 5-10 seconds, other times it just stays at 1800-2000.

Mostly it's idling perfect. The car runs fine at idle, hot and cold. Response is spot on, it doens't hesitate, it's not fluctuating.
Is the attenuation of gas-wire that does not work? Or, does this sounds like a sensor problem?

RuckkehrMiata
06-06-2014, 09:44 AM
I am no pro, but you could check vacuum lines for leaks with a bit of soapy water IIRC. I think they can cause higher idles.

kung fu jesus
06-06-2014, 09:45 AM
Idle Air Control Valve. It is bolted to the bottom of the throttle body. See if the electrical connection is loose or corroded. If that checks out, you have to remove it to clean it, or replace it.

KAL
06-06-2014, 10:10 AM
Awesome, thanks — reading about IACV / ICV / ISC-failiures, your suggestion sounds correct.

KAL
06-06-2014, 07:14 PM
Short video, showing the high idle when stopped.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pgxizVr67k&feature=youtu.be

Agent☣Orange
06-06-2014, 07:49 PM
With KFJ around, who needs factory service manuals?

kung fu jesus
06-06-2014, 08:08 PM
It's like a puzzle to solve. I enjoy it. :)

Pyr0monk3y
06-06-2014, 08:30 PM
This is pretty close to my problem. This weekend I plan to quit mooching off of KFJ's wealth of knowledge and do some actual diagnosis.

drummingpariah
06-10-2014, 02:46 AM
I'm fighting the same problem with my 93, and it's become increasingly common and intense with each race event I attend. I'm happy to start a new thread, but this sounds similar enough that I believe I simply have a more advanced version of your condition.

Here's what I tried tonight: