PDA

View Full Version : [2000 5spd] Rear Shock meets Pothole, Hilarity does not Ensue

chucknorrisinator
02-20-2015, 12:58 AM
So I drove my beautiful, new to me, 2000 NB over a sizable pothole today and heard a clunk. I thought I had just bottomed out and it would be fine, then I hit another normal sized bump and heard the same clunk again. I thought maybe I had knocked the mudflap loose and it was clunking. I got home and checked under the car with flashlight after the mudflap appeared to be intact. Something is wrong with my driver's side rear shock. I'll post a pic in the morning when the light is better. The spring has come down further on the body of the shock than it is on the passenger's side.

Questions:

Reasonable replacement parts? Can I do just the rear or do I need to do all four?

Can I drive on it in the meantime, as long as I'm careful and don't push it too hard?

Anyone in DFW want to give a Saturday to direct this replacement? I'm a college student on a tight budget (especially with parts breaking on my car, lol), but I'd be happy to get you a beer and I'm mildly entertaining. I have some tools, but definitely not a torque wrench/ratchet, maybe some of the more specialized stuff needed to replace the shocks.

Thanks!

Demon I Am
02-20-2015, 08:46 AM
It sounds like somehow the spring perch broke/bent?

I'd not want to drive on that, in case of total failure. Could be deadly on the highway.

I'd look on the board, or local to you (craigslist) for an OEM shock body. If you can get the whole shock/spring assembly that'd be easiest to swap. I wouldn't expect to pay more than $50 for a good used piece, most scrappers probably throw them away.

If I were closer, I'd be willing to lend a hand.

kung fu jesus
02-20-2015, 08:55 AM
Take some pics, including the shock on the other side for comparison. If the shocks are yellow, you might have Konis, and the snap ring for the perch may have slipped.

tsingson
02-20-2015, 09:08 AM