PDA

View Full Version : Help an excited newbie - Thoughts on this car???

Stig
04-15-2016, 03:12 PM
Hello all,

My name is Michael and I've just made the (seemingly popular) decision to get into a Miata for the track. I'm just starting out and looking to learn, so wanted to keep costs low and invest in the best learner's platform I could...so I landed on an NA. I'll be doing HPDE type events...that'll be the cars main purpose...although it will probably be driven to the track not trailers (at least sometimes) and may see other occasional road duty.

I found a car I'm very excited about...and I was wondering if I could call upon your collective wisdom to get your opinions - I've been looking for a few month and think I understand the market, but I know that my knowledge pales in comparison to the experts here :)

Here are the details.

1992 NA
1.8 Motor, Tranny and LSD swap from a 60k mile donor car. Motor work done before swap: cleaned valves, new valve cover gasket, plugs, wires, oil pan gasket, rear main seal, etc
New axles
New Exedy Clutch Pro Kit with a Chromoly lightweight 10lb flywheel
Front and rear drilled/slotted rotors (EBC yellow/ stoptechs
Edelbrock braided brake lines
Megan Racing coil overs
Autopower Bolt in Roll Cage (DOM Steel)
GForce 5 point harness
Corbeau Racing seat SFI Approved
Allstar roll bar padding
Racequip window net mount
Allstar window net
Quickcar racing master disconnect switch
GForce arm restraints
New MAF sensor
New radiator
New Timing Belt
New Shift boot
MSD RPM Switch
Racing Steering wheel
Stainless steel racing header
Straight pipe into magna flow muffler

Disclosure Items:
Car is currently registered and inspected so it's road legal (which works well for me)
Some suspension work may be in the car's future - lower ball joints and tie rod ends (boot cracking)
No hardtop
I'm scheduled to have a Miata shop PPI (inspect) it and do a compression test before I purchase

PIX