PDA

View Full Version : Turbo Kits: DIY or Pre-made?

psulja
07-31-2012, 09:13 PM
I'm just beginning my research on boosting my NA. I plan to start ordering everything when I get back from working up north at the end of the summer as a gift to myself.

I'm just wondering what everybody's opinions are on this topic. If you were going to boost an NA6 would you buy a pre-made kit such as the FMII or build your own kit?

I know a lot depends on personal preference or what resources you have readily available to you but I was just looking for people's opinions, whether it be from past experiences going either direction or from what you have come across in your research getting ready for boost.

Let's say the budget is between $4-5k with a bit of wiggle room either way.

I<3flippyheadlights
07-31-2012, 09:44 PM
I think you should answer these questions first.
- What is your power goal?
- why? Have you sat in other Miatas with that power level?
- How much experience do you have with boosting cars?
- Do you want to spend more and get less headache or spend less and get a little more creative?
- Do you plan on running a stand alone ECU?

Once these are figured out it makes it a bit more clear. My boost goals are about 150 whp with little tuning. This leaves me with a lot of room for improvement but I don't have to drastically change my car. I have no idea what I'm doing so I'll probably go with a kit that has everything. Its what people reccomend anyway when first boosting a car. But maybe you want more, you want 200 horses. Now you have to think about more then the boost, you have to think about what the boost does to the car. No longer will the stock clutch hold, stock tires, etc. There are a lot of aspects to boost and it can be scary. Hell, I'm still trying to make my car stable enough to boost it without blowing a hole in the side of the block. You are a smart guy and you have the funds, I think you will be fine after figuring out what you want.