PDA

View Full Version : 1999 miata oil leak near crankshaft

Tammy
05-14-2013, 03:07 PM
Hi Y'all! Help I am having a BIG problem with an oil leak near the crankshaft. I've had 2 different mechanics change the seals, try a sleeve etc. Both seem to think they're may be too much play in the cranshaft. Am looking to buy a used motor for $1500.00 plus $600.00 to put in with 52,000 miles on such. Does anyone feel I am justfied saving my little car that I've been driving for over 13 years. Looking like a 90 day warranty. Am I crazy or would you say go for it if I DON'T wan t car payments! Please feel free to reply to tammyzoom@aol.com. It's really urgent that I know asap what y'all think. Thanks and have a great day.

Demon I Am
05-14-2013, 03:27 PM
That's a bit expensive for a motor, but you do what you have to do. For only a little more, you can buy one that has been fully rebuilt. Does the $600 include all the seals/fluids/incidentals required for an install?

Tammy
05-14-2013, 03:33 PM
Yes sir

Demon I Am
05-14-2013, 03:40 PM
If the person is guaranteeing their work, that is a decent price for labor and all. Motor swap is not hard at all, just takes some time and tools.

Tammy
05-14-2013, 04:05 PM
Just spoke to a Mazda dealer who quoted me $1700.00 for a motor with 80,000 miles and wants $1900.00 in labor. I think I gotta go for it.....

The Driver
05-14-2013, 05:17 PM
What is the vehicles overral condition? Pics maybe? The reason I ask, is because that is a lot of money, for a car that may not be worth it. Point of reference, When I got rid of my '95 Miata, I was looking at over $2,000 for a car that needed body work (paint) and new interior. I used that money the get a MUCH cleaner Miata.

kung fu jesus
05-15-2013, 07:22 AM
Tammy, I feel the same way...would rather pay to keep a car like this going than have a car payment.

The first quote you received is fair. The second, from the dealer, is pretty high.