PDA

View Full Version : MX5 Club Appeal

MRnewsBot
06-27-2013, 03:22 PM
MX5 Club Appeal

by Liz Turner

http://www.beautyandthedirt.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/2013-MX-5-Club.jpg

I’ve recently reconnected with a schoolfriend on Facebook. We were getting on fine until she said how much she loved her Mazda MX-5 – her second. Then I remembered I never did like her.

When people find out that I write about cars for a living, they often ask what’s my favourite car. It’s a tough one because I love so many cars, but the one that always makes it to my tongue is the MX-5. And I can’t have one because I need four seats.

The little Mazda is a car you can have a relationship with. The team who created it in 1990 aimed to create a relationship like a horse and rider, and that feeling has survived to this third generation. It responds to your slightest touch, and darts around corners with a zest more expensive cars can’t match.

And that’s why I like it so much. It’s affordable to buy, insure and run. Its 1.8 engine or gives it just enough power to be nippy while keeping fuel bills and insurance costs low. Even the sportier 2.0-litre version is affordable to run, and both hold their value for when you want to sell the car.

The MX-5 is as reliable as that favourite pony and as eager to go out and have fun whenever you do, even if it’s only to the shops and back. More powerful cars need space and speed to give their best, but the little cuddly little roadster handles with such precision, it feels as if you’re going fast when you’re only doing 30mph. I’ve actually driven a Ferrari that did this the other way around, and it’s just a recipe for frustration and points on your licence.

http://www.beautyandthedirt.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/MX-5-UKinterior72.jpg