PDA

View Full Version : Timing belt failure on my Miata

Carroll Boy
09-11-2013, 11:12 PM
I'm a newbie. Sorry, this is probably the oldest question on the forum. Can't find an answer quickly. Is the Miata valve train free wheeling or interference? I've read in some places that failure of the timing belt does not result in valve/piston interference. The Haynes manual says that belt mistiming at installation will "result in significant engine damage" - hinting that it is an interference design. Which is it?

3MiataFamily
09-11-2013, 11:36 PM
totally a NON INTERFERENCE motor...that statement in the Haynes manual is incorrect, but kinda generic for a lot of motors.

worst thing that will happen is you will be horribly inconvenienced, at night, with your girlfriend/wife all hot and bothered, in a rainstorm...and you coast to the side of the road...SOL on multiple levels...:fp:

that said, these things go for lots of miles...over 100k in most cases...and 20+ years in other cases...

BoBo
09-12-2013, 03:33 AM
Non interference.

WASABI
09-12-2013, 06:05 AM
you will be horribly inconvenienced, at night, with your girlfriend/wife all hot and bothered, in a rainstorm...and you coast to the side of the road...SOL on multiple levels...:fp:

Happened to me, except it was a hot coworker, in the hot afternoon... we had to walk a mile back to the office, and I to tow the car back to my house to do the repair. No issues with the car after I replaced the timing belt. (true story)

-Jim

JUST KIDDING... HAPPILY MARRIED!

atank
09-12-2013, 06:26 AM
It happened to me on a test drive, with the seller............got the Roadster for a steal after that!!!!
(true, true)

WASABI
09-12-2013, 08:04 AM
Anthony, talk about perfect timing. (pun intended). Out of curiosity, how much did the price drop?

tsingson
09-12-2013, 08:13 AM
Anthony, talk about perfect timing. (pun intended). Out of curiosity, how much did the price drop?

Yes, I am curious as well.

atank
09-12-2013, 08:32 AM