PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here - what suspension mods do I need for the track?

Sydewaysix
11-07-2013, 11:44 PM
I'm new to the miata world and just picked up a 1990 A-package. The car came with quite a bit of suspension mods but I'm wondering if you suspension gurus think I need more/less/other suspension components to make this car handle well for track days. I have owned several mustangs, my last being a highly modified 98 cobra, and the suspension mods on these cars were endless since they handled like boats stock.

I understand the miata is a whole other animal when it comes to handling but I really want to dial it in well enough to handle just as well, if not better, than my last mustang with full suspension.

Current suspension mods:

Team Dynamics Pro Race 1.2 Wheels (15x7)
Kumho Ecsta XS 205-50-15
Koni Sport Shocks (rebound adjustable)
SSS Springs (500 lb/in front springs, 300 lb/in rear springs)
Fat Cat Motorsports coilover kit
Fat Cat Motorsports NB upper shock mounts & bump stops
Racing Beat Front Sway bar
949 Racing End Links
Racing Beat Front Frame Brace
Racing Beat Rear Frame Brace (not installed but I have it)

Thanks!

Slampen
11-08-2013, 02:16 AM
You are set.
Drive it.

Mazdaspeed003
11-08-2013, 02:49 AM
Sounds like a great miata. Drive it and see what you think it needs. Remember to set the right tire pressure. After driving it a couple of times on the track, look into getting a race alignment.

BoBo
11-08-2013, 03:40 AM
Your set! It should handle equally or better than the stang due to lighter weight. Fat Cat setup is one of the best for miata. Try the FM alignment specs.

kung fu jesus
11-08-2013, 06:21 AM
Only mods you need are seat time and patience. People mod the crap out of their cars for track events and all it does is hinder your skill improvement by masking your deficiencies. Learn the skills to counter the negative handling traits. THAT is the challenge and fun doing track events. :)

Enjoy it!

Sydewaysix
11-09-2013, 03:36 AM