PDA

View Full Version : Ticking Valve Lifters on my Miata? Should I buy new ones?

mx54life
03-07-2014, 09:23 AM
So I gave her a good warm up last night as we are going on a 4 day vacation and the stupid lifters made some irritating ticking noise again but this time it did not go away. I am convinced that I should replace them now as I have thoroughly cleaned them last time. The least price I've seen are in Ebay.

1. Are they any good, anybody here have personal experience with them?

2. Does 1.6 and 1.8 lifters the same?

3. They are listed for different cars including Kia's??? I'm still new to miatas, am I missing something here?

4. Of should I just buy a rebuild/remanufactured 1999 head?

Sorry I can't stand ticking noise.

Thanks

Phatmiata
03-07-2014, 09:33 AM
The lifters always make that noise if your oil is overdue for a change, or if the engine is cold. You can try using a thicker viscosity oil, but honestly that noise will most likely always be there with the older NA cars.

mx54life
03-07-2014, 09:39 AM
The lifters always make that noise if your oil is overdue for a change, or if the engine is cold. You can try using a thicker viscosity oil, but honestly that noise will most likely always be there with the older NA cars.

Even with new lifters? It was so nice without the ticks lol.

Phatmiata
03-07-2014, 09:44 AM
how many miles are on the engine? I generally stay out of the engine unless it needs something serious.

mx54life
03-07-2014, 09:52 AM
how many miles are on the engine? I generally stay out of the engine unless it needs something serious.

80K and I will not stay out coz' the last time I stayed out I sold my S2000 for a very small mechanical problem Lol. Hence the name.....MX54life

Ticking sound is serious especially when you start the car in an underground parking.....

kung fu jesus
03-07-2014, 11:35 AM