PDA

View Full Version : 1999 10 AE, what suspension do I have?

Robert
07-29-2014, 12:14 PM
I'm new to Miatas, and I'am very happy with my 1999 10 AE. I'm thinking about
trying some auto crossing after having seen a good event locally. Can anyone tell me what
suspension I have, it being all stock up to now. I did notice I have Bilsteins all around, but
was wondering if there are areas where there is much to be gained. Does this model have
higher rated springs and anti-sway bars? I'm not looking to have an all out race car since
this is a DD. Thanks for any responses.

kung fu jesus
07-29-2014, 12:30 PM
The 10ae has the Sport suspension. They are factory spec Bilsteins and slightly stiffer springs, IIRC.

The area to be gained, in all honesty and with the MOST certainty, is YOU. Learn to drive on what you have. The biggest mistake people make is to go and modify the suspension without realizing their full potential within themselves. Take that money you planned to use on suspension upgrades and go get instruction. I am completely serious about this.

Martin
07-29-2014, 01:17 PM
10AE also has bigger anti-sway bars and a factory shock tower bar.

Rogue
07-29-2014, 01:23 PM
The area to be gained, in all honesty and with the MOST certainty, is YOU. Learn to drive on what you have. The biggest mistake people make is to go and modify the suspension without realizing their full potential within themselves. Take that money you planned to use on suspension upgrades and go get instruction. I am completely serious about this.

I agree 100%…….When I started AutoX and "old wheel" told me that "if you can't drive it stock, you'll won't be able to drive it modified."
He tightened my front sway and bumped my tire pressure and had me drive it like that for one season.
Then one mod at a time, so you'll know what works and what doesn't
I still run my factory Billies, and have a blast.

kung fu jesus
07-29-2014, 02:08 PM