Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is changing fuel pump a noobie project?

Idling - Listen to it purr...
    Drives
    Silver ‘91
    Thanks Given

Is changing fuel pump a noobie project?

Hi guys 91 miata full of gas’s was on a drive about 30 minutes and the car died no power at all and I am having it towed home. I think the problem is the fuel pump but I am worried about accessing it in the gas tank bc I’m not a pro. Is this a huge job?

6,000 rpm - mere mortals would shift HarryB's Avatar
    Drives
    '04 Strato Blue NB2
    Thanks Given
    Thanked 2,273 Times in 1,330 Posts
    No, just a bit tedious. Disconnect the battery first. Need to remove the carpet behind the seats (on the parcel shelf), remove the access panel (a few bolts). Clean up the area over the fuel pump cover before removing it to avoid crap falling in your tank. Remove the fuel hoses and the connector, unbolt the panel, take it out carefully because the fuel sending unit might catch on it. Have a towel ready to not drip gas everywhere. It is worth replacing the in-tank fuel filter (get a genuine Mazda one) and the cover gasket as it will be perished by now. Fuel hoses may also crack during removal, so worth replacing those as well.

3. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to HarryB For This Useful Post:

Agent☣Orange (09-11-2022),atank (09-14-2022),kung fu jesus (09-22-2022),NP91NA (09-11-2022),vote4pedro (09-24-2022)

Individual-1 ☚ ☻ ☛ Agent☣Orange's Avatar
    Thanks Given
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,545 Posts
    I would test the circuit first. Make sure the pump is working (or not) with the ignition on and if not, I'd check the fuse and then power at the pump. If it does need replacement, I'd do what Harry says but I would also take out a seat, maybe both just to give myself room. That parcel shelf panel is held on by 300 bolts so if you have a cordless ratchet, you'd surely save your hands and a lot of time.