Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do I suspension swap?

THAT'S AWESOME, CHEN FooSchnickens's Avatar
    Drives
    1991 BRG
    Thanks Given

How do I suspension swap?

I dunno, lol.

If that's your answer to the question then I have the solution. Over the next day or so while I play manager/mechanic here at the shop I'm going to be doing a very detailed writeup of a full suspension swap complete with pretty pictures.

Many people have been asking for this and now that I have a car here that needs the job done I will be doing the project and taking you along every step of the way.

To preface the actual write-up (which will get posted tomorrow), I will go over a few basic points that will help complete newbies understand what all is going on, and also explain my methodology for certain points of the swap.

To begin, swapping out your suspension is not nearly as hard as some people make it seem. So long as you have all your tools and supplies prepared, there's very little that can impede your progress through the course of the job other than discovering old stock parts that are well past their prime and need replacement. A basic understanding of mechanics, a good tool set and a level head are about all you will need to breeze through this.

For the newbies:

While this isn't a hard project, it is certainly one you want to do RIGHT. This is a major part of your car we're talking about. Skimping out somewhere or calling it "good enough" could lead to disastrous results down the road. Take your time and don't rush things. I know you want to slap your new toys on and go tear up the streets ASAP, but your noggin is worth more than needing to buy new tires every other month.