Page 1 of 24 1234567811 ... LastLast

Thread: KFJs "God's Chariot" e30

Drives
    1999 White
    Thanks Given
    Thanked 7,202 Times in 3,433 Posts

KFJs "God's Chariot" e30

I am a slave to RWD German cars and I don't know why. Maybe it's my ancestry, maybe it's because I grew up around them in my formative teen years. My father was an automotive engineer and traveled abroad a lot. He spent a lot of time working with BMW as a supplier and always brought home really cool BWM racing posters I had adorned on my bedroom walls. I wish I still had them. He owned a couple, one of which he passed along to me when I was a more experienced driver. He also owned an '88 M5 that he and I drove to CA and back.

I tried to fill that void many years afterward with a '95 e36m3. Intoxicating engine, gorgeous body, poor interior and many electrical gremlins:

I sold it in '10 to help seed my consultancy. It did and I am glad it went to a good home.

I had another, lesser model e30 many years ago that needed a lot of work. I drove it to and from college while I was still in Detroit. It could never be what I wanted because I was too poor, too busy and lived in the Rust Belt. I had put almost 100k on that e30 before I sold at 250k and it still ran like a champ. After thinking about what I paid for the M3 and what I put into it, I knew I would have enjoyed a cleaner, well-kept e30 more. And so it goes...

So, I have been planning to buy this car from a good friend for almost a year. It is an '88 325is. I know him to be like me about his vehicles; particular and demanding. Fussy. He didn't have to talk me up about the car, I pursued him about it for many months. I knew he was looking for another car (e28) and the pursuit heightened when he finally found and bought one to his liking. I helped him to look for an NA Miata after he drove mine I had sold to a mutual friend. I offered planning and build advice for his intent.